The Chaldean Order in Tarot and Astrology

by Apr 14, 20200 comments

Chaldean Order

The Chaldean Order is the ancient and traditional way of ordering the seven planets according to their relative speeds as seen from Earth. The order is:

  • Saturn
  • Jupiter
  • Mars
  • Sun
  • Venus
  • Mercury
  • Moon

This is order is so ubiquitous in traditional astrology that authors have no need to remind their readers, in the same way that we do not need to be told that Tuesdaty follows Monday. In other words, when the seven planets are mentioned, the Chaldean Order is implicit unless specified.

Planetary Hours

The planetary hours uses the same order of the planets

Days of the Week

The cycle of seven planets repeating in a 24 hour cycle automatically generates the planetary rulers of the days of the week.

Numbers and Magic Squares

The system of Magic squares uses the Chaldean Order

Chaldean Order in the Sephirah Yetsirah

The seven double letters correspond to the same order:

  • Saturn – Beth
  • Jupiter – Gimel
  • Mars – Daleth
  • Sun – Kaph
  • Venus – Peh
  • Mercury – Resh
  • Moon – Tau

This order is preserved in the planet ruling each decanate.

Chaldean Order in the Tarot

The Tarot appeared in Europe at a time when studying anything relating to Hebrew could result in a death sentence, so sources had to be disguised. Secret Societies used tarot to their own ends and changed the priority from the 22 letters to the numbers 1 to 10 on the Kabbalistic Tree of Life. The natural order of the planets in the 22 letters were lost/altered to suit the needs of each Secret Society. For example, the Golden Dawn transposed Strength with justice in order to make things fit better on the Tree of Life.

The Chaldean order appears in the Sephiroth and the Minor Arcana starting with

  • 3 Saturn
  • 4 Jupiter
  • 5 Mars
  • 6 Sun
  • 7 Venus
  • 8 Mercury
  • 9 Moon

Restoring the Chaldean Order in the Tarot

On this site, the Chaldean Order of for the double letters of the Hebrew alphabet is restored to make a more coherent and harmonic tarot.

Read MoreĀ 

Powers of the Olympic Spirits

Powers of the Olympic Spirits

The Olympic Spirits are mentioned in the Arbatel, which also gives us their powers and the means to work with them. The Olympic Spirits are very easy to work with - it is only ritual magicians who make it difficult! Olympic Spirits and Planetary Hours The method for...

Arbatel Themes

Arbatel Themes

The themes of the Arbatel are becoming clearer as I write these posts. I will elaborate on these themes in forthcoming essays, here is an overview. Themes of Four "Arbatel" is derived from the Hebrew word for four, ARBO, which relates to the Pythagorean Tetraktys, and...

Arbatel Time

Arbatel Time

Time is the secret to understanding The Arbatel, and you need to read what it says, not what you want it to say. In my first post I made the point that there are no instructions for rituals, or invocations or evocations. The reason is that the Olympic Spirits are...

Planetary Hours

Planetary Hours

The planetary hours of Saturn, Jupiter, Mars, Sun, Venus, Mercury and Moon is an ancient system of astrology and magic lost to the West in the 16th century but still in use in Asia, and is incredibly powerful, if you know how to use it. At the heart is the relative...

Leave a comment.


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *